Return to Headlines

Tenured teachers recognized

Tenured teachers
At its regular meeting on November 8th, Dunkirk's Board of Education recognized twelve District teachers who were granted tenure this year. 
Carmen Andrews* (School 5), Heidi Bates (School 7), Meghan Bible (Intermediate), Julie Brueckl (School 7), Sarah Crane* (School 3), Ashley DeJohn (Intermediate), Kelsey Gawronski* (Intermediate), Inez Gonzalez (Secondary), Jaimee Gustafson* (School 5), Judy Ippolito (Secondary), Amanda Kulig* (Intermediate), Nicole Piazza (School 5) earned the honor.
"Thank you to the Board of Education, principals, and coworkers for supporting me these past few years," said Sarah Crane, elementary school teacher at School 3. "During my time in Dunkirk, I have enjoyed getting families involved in school events and promoting healthy lifestyles with our daily mile incentive. I have had the pleasure of meeting many different people, and I truly love my students!"
Jaimee Gustafson, a Dunkirk alumna echoed those sentiments, saying, "I have always loved our diverse culture in Dunkirk. The students bring me joy every day, and I am blessed to be working with such a supportive staff."
According to the New York State United Teachers (NYSUT) website, "tenure is just one of  the safeguards New York state has put in place to ensure every student has an effective teacher. A teacher must earn tenure after three years or more of effective teaching, oversight, and evaluation."
In his introduction of the tenured teachers, shared director of human resources Dr. Mark Frazier said, "These twelve individuals made a commitment to Dunkirk and we, in turn, are making a commitment to them. They are 21st century heroes. You have persevered through the unimaginable. We are fortunate to have you on our winning team."
Congratulations, teachers! Dunkirk is so lucky to have all of you!
*Dunkirk City School District Alumna